After opening a matter, you'll see the Matter Actions button in the upper-right corner of your screen. The button provides several options:
- Reopen a matter
- Re-Evaluate Permissions on a matter
- Close a matter
- Duplicate a matter
- Change a matter's template
- Merge a matter
- Delete a matter
We'll go over all these options in this section.
Reopening a Matter
The first option on the screen is to Reopen a closed matter. Note that you will only see this option on closed matters.

When you click Reopen, you'll see this screen. Click Yes to reopen the matter or Cancel to back out.

Next, choose whether to keep or reset the Invoice Accepted Prior To date. Select Keep Date to reopen the matter with the existing date, or Reset Date to allow vendors to submit invoices to the matter. Then click Reopen Matter.

Re-Evaluating Permissions
Click Re-Evaluate Permissions to update permissions based on your matter permission rules.

Closing a Matter
Click Close to close a matter.

When you click Close, you'll get this message. Click Yes to close or Cancel to back out.

Duplicating a Matter
Use the Duplicate option to quickly create a copy of an existing matter.

After you click Duplicate, you'll get this screen. Click Yes to duplicate or Cancel to back out.

You'll see the duplicated matter on the Matters page.

Changing a Matter's Template
Click the Change Template option to change the template for the matter.

You'll get this message; click Yes to change the template or Cancel to back out.

You'll then be taken through the Create New Matter screen. For more information, see Creating a New Matter.
Merging a Matter
IMPORTANT: Once a matter is merged, the action cannot be undone.
If two or more matter records are created by different users for the same legal matter or otherwise overlap, you can merge the duplicates into the destination matter.
Merging is only recommended if invoices have already been submitted to the duplicate matter(s). If invoices have not been submitted, consider deleting the duplicate matter(s) instead. For additional help with deciding between merging and deleting matters, see How do I handle duplicate matters?.
Before Continuing
Review the impacts and other considerations for merging matters before moving forward:
- Files uploaded to the duplicate matter will not automatically be moved to the destination matter. If files need to be retained, they will need to be uploaded to the destination matter.
- Invoices attached to the duplicate matter are moved to the destination matter but will not inherit the custom attributes from the destination matter.
- Dates worked, hours worked, and the total amount of invoices from the duplicate matter will be added to the values shown in the destination matter.
- The last modified dates on the destination matter and the invoices from the duplicate matter will reflect the date of the merge action.
- Vendors from the duplicate matter will be added to the destination matter.
- The activity log in the destination matter will display the merge action.
- Once merged, the duplicate matter will no longer be searchable in Unity. Searching for it will return a "matter not found" message.
- The following applies to merging matters created from Legal Requests, if applicable:
- Two matters that were both created from Legal Requests cannot be merged.
- A matter created from a Legal Request cannot be merged into a matter that was not created from a Legal Request.
- A matter that was not created from a Legal Request can be merged into a matter created from a Legal Request.
To merge a matter, click the Merge option. Then select the destination matter from the drop-down menu.

Click Submit to merge the information or Cancel to back out.

Deleting a Matter
Use the Delete option to delete the matter from the Unity system.

After you click Delete, you'll get this screen. Click Yes to delete or Cancel to back out.

The matter will be removed from the Matters page.