Managing Record Participants in Bulk

by Christina Moore Updated Aug 19, 2019

The Manage Participant Action enables you to bulk replace, add, or remove Participants from Records. This Action is especially helpful when an end-user leaves an organization or changes jobs, and the organization needs to replace/remove the user as a Participant on many Records in an app.

This Action is designed to be triggered via a “bulk” Button from an App’s Dashboard. An end-user selects one or more Records and clicks the bulk Button. From here, a UI pop-up appears, asking the user to identify which other user (by email address) should be replaced, added, or removed from the selected Record(s).

You may be wondering: Why would I use the Manage Participant Action instead of the Add Participant or Remove Participant Actions? While all three Actions can be fired in bulk, only Manage Participant can perform a replace operation.

Note: The official name of this Action is actually Manage Participant (Parameterized). For the sake of brevity, this tutorial will refer to the Action as simply Manage Participant.

How to Configure Manage Participant

The Manage Participant Action is different from other Actions in Onit, in that its configuration is primarily performed by the end-user, not by the person configuring the App (i.e., the Apptitude Developer). In other words, whereas most Onit Actions expect the Apptitude Developer to specify all of the configuration properties, the Manage Participant Action places this responsibility on the end-user using the Action, via the UI pop-up mentioned earlier. That said, Apptitude Developer can pre-populate the configuration options in the UI pop-up, by entering values into the Action’s configuration screen (shown below).

The Action Type dropdown will determine what the Manage Participant Action will do with the provided Roles. The dropdown has three options:

  • Replace Participant: Replaces one Participant on the Record(s) with another provided Participant.
  • Add Participant: Adds a Participant to the Record(s).
  • Remove Participant: Removes a Participant from the Record(s).

The Old User and New User dropdowns contain a list of every user that has logged into your Onit environment.

All checkboxes including the Parameterized Action Type, Parameterized Old User, Parameterized New User, and Parametrized Roles must remain checked in order to save the Action.

Executing the Manage Participant Action

The Manage Participant Action should be triggered by a bulk button. Once the Action is fired a UI pop-up similar to the screenshot below will appear. 

The initial values in the modal will be the values configured into the Manage Participant Action when it is saved. The user who fires the Action has the ability to change any of these values. Once the Ok button is clicked the Action will fire.

Note: When a Manage Participant Action fires it will trigger the appropriate Business Rules on successful execution (e.g., Participant Added Business Rules for an add participant configuration). The replace participant configuration will fire both a Participant Deleted and Participant Added Business Rule. You can hang additional logic off the Business Rule fired by the Manage Participant Action. For example, once a participant is replaced on a parent Record you can use the resulting Business Rules to replace the same participant on all child Records.

Previous Article Adding a Participant from a Field Value
Next Article Building Approval Workflows

© 2020 Onit, Inc.

docs.onit.com contains proprietary and confidential information owned by Onit, Inc. that is subject to copyright. Onit presents it exclusively to you for your sole use in conjunction with using Onit products. No portion of the materials contained herein may be used for any other purpose. No portion of the materials contained herein may be shared with third parties or reproduced in any form.